All-West Coast League teams announced; Walla Walla infielder Alex Stanford of Gonzaga named WCL MVP

The 2011 All-WCL teams and awards were announced by West Coast League president Ken Wilson as voted on by league head coaches and executives. The Wenatchee AppleSox placed six players on the first team, more than any other club. Eleven players from Corvallis were All-WCL selections, making the Knights the most represented club on both teams.

Wenatchee first baseman Brock Gates (Pacific Lutheran), Walla Walla second baseman Alex Stanford (Gonzaga), AppleSox third baseman Adam Nelubowich (Washington State), along with Wenatchee outfielders Payden Cawley-Lamb (Gonzaga) and Breland Almadova (Hawaii) were the top position player vote-getters. Bellingham Bells right-hander Adrian Sampson (Bellevue College), Wenatchee aces Alex Phillips (Kentucky) and Owen Jones (Portland), and Corvallis closer Mark Trentacosta (UC Irvine) collected the most votes among pitchers.

Alex Stanford of the Walla Walla Sweets was named the league’s MVP. The senior-to-be second baseman finished second in the league in hitting with a .340 average, while setting a new league single-season mark with 66 hits. Stanford smashed 2 home runs, had 11 RBIs and stole 15 bases. It’s the second consecutive season a middle infielder has won the award. Tommy Richards (Washington State) of the Bend Elks was the league MVP in 2010.

Right-hander Owen Jones of Wenatchee earned West Coast League Pitcher of the Year honors. Jones, who’ll be a senior at University of Portland, set a league record with 7 wins, going 7-1 with a 2.00 ERA while striking out 78 over 77 innings pitched.

Corvallis skipper Brooke Knight was named WCL Coach of the Year for the third time. Knight led Corvallis to the West Coast League championship in 2011, after winning the title in 2008. Knight was Coach of the Year in 2008 and 2009.

The Cowlitz Black Bears won the Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award for the first time. The award is presented to the team exhibiting exceptional sportsmanship and honors the long-time San Diego State head coach and former West Coast League commissioner Jim Dietz.

Eddie Poplawski, the first-year owner of the Bellingham Bells, was selected WCL Executive of the Year.

First-Team All-WCL

Payden Cawley-Lamb (Gonzaga, Soph.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Breland Almadova (Hawaii, Jr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Kyle Garlick (Oregon, Soph.-to-be), Cowlitz Black Bears

First Base:
Brock Gates (Pacific Lutheran, Sr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox

Second Base:
Alex Stanford (Gonzaga, Sr.-to-be), Walla Walla Sweets

Trent Oleszczuk (Seattle, Sr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Third Base:
Adam Nelubowich (Washington State, Soph.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox

Corey Davis (Wright State, Sr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Michael Benjamin, Jr. (Arizona State, Soph.-to-be), Bend Elks

Starting Pitcher:
Adrian Sampson (Bellevue College, Soph.-to-be), Bellingham Bells
Alex Phillips (Kentucky, Sr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Owen Jones (Portland, Sr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Daniel Chavez (College of San Mateo, Soph.-to-be), Bend Elks
Jeff Gold (Oregon, Soph.-to-be), Cowlitz Black Bears

Relief Pitcher:
Mark Trentacosta (UC Irvine, Jr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Second-Team All-WCL

Ryan Barnes (Oregon State, Jr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Andrew Mendenhall (Oregon, Jr.-to-be), Walla Walla Sweets
Rich Sanguinetti (Nebraska, Jr.-to-be), Klamath Falls Gems

First Base:
David Armendariz (Cal Poly, Soph.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Turner Gill (Portland, Soph.-to-be), Klamath Falls Gems

Second Base:
Corey Moore (Pacific Lutheran, Sr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Mitchell Walding (Signed with Philadelphia Phillies), Cowlitz Black Bears

Third Base:
Tyler Christian (San Jose State, Jr.-to-be), Bend Elks
Graham Saiko (Oklahoma State, Soph.-to-be), Klamath Falls Gems

Aaron DeGuire (Lewis-Clark State, Sr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Braxton Miller (Lewis-Clark State, Sr.-to-be), Cowlitz Black Bears

Ryan Gorton (Oregon State, Sr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Starting Pitcher:
Dylan Stuart (UC Riverside, Soph.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Chris Johnson (Portland, Jr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Max Beatty (Pacific Lutheran, Jr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Jace Fry (Oregon State, Fr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Tim Culligan (Nevada-Reno, Sr.-to-be), Walla Walla Sweets

Relief Pitcher:
Jeff Brigham (Washington, Soph.-to-be), Bend Elks
Ben Wetzler (Oregon State, Soph.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Honorable Mention All-WCL

Bellingham: Kai Hatch (Utah Valley), Eric Lane (Gonzaga), Jeff Gelalich (UCLA), Nick Palewicz (Washington). Bend: Jeff Ostapeck (Villanova). Corvallis: Sean Myrom (Concordia), Jimmy Allen (Cal Poly). Cowlitz: Spencer O’Neil (Southridge HS, Kennewick, WA). Kelowna: Greg Friesen (Prairie Baseball Academy), Nick Colwell (North Dakota State), Bo Folkinga (Western Oregon), Cade Bowen (LSU-Shreveport). Kitsap: Chris Murphy (St. Mary’s), Claude Johnson (Arkansas State), Cole Norton (St. Mary’s). Walla Walla: Elliot Stewart (Cal Poly), Ryan Richardson (Campbellsville), Brett Watson (Walla Walla CC). Wenatchee: Pat Valaika (UCLA), Phil Ferragamo (UC Irvine), Keeler Brynteson (Portland).