League president Ken Wilson announces All-WCL teams

West Coast League president Ken Wilson announced the 2009 All-West Coast League teams as voted on by member head coaches.

Corvallis first baseman Taylor Ard of Mt. Hood CC, shortstop Richie Jimenez of UNLV, third baseman Doug Cherry of Washington and pitchers Kyle Kraus of University of Portland and Matt Andriese of UC Riverside; and Wenatchee outfielder Kyle Johnson of Washington State and pitcher Chad Wagner of Hawaii Pacific; and Bellingham pitcher Tyrell Poggemeyer of Lewis-Clark State College were the top vote getters.

The Corvallis Knights were the most represented club with 8 All-WCL selections, while 7 players from the WCL Champion Wenatchee AppleSox were All-WCL picks.

The WCL will announce its annual awards on Monday, August 31.

All-WCL First-Team

Kyle Johnson (Washington State, So.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Peter Lavin (San Francisco, Jr.-to-be), Bend Elks
Josh Takayoshi (Pacific Lutheran University, Sr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox

First Base-
Taylor Ard (Mt. Hood CC, So.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Second Base-
Craig Hertler (San Jose State, Jr.-to-be), Bellingham Bells

Richie Jimenez (UNLV, Jr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Third Base-
Doug Cherry (Washington, Sr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

Ronnie Shaeffer (UC Irvine, So.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox

Eddie Hsieh (Cal, Sr.-to-be), Kelowna Falcons

Starting Pitcher-
Kyle Kraus (Portland, So.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Matt Andriese (UC Riverside, So.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Tyrell Poggemeyer (Lewis-Clark State, Jr.-to-be), Bellingham Bells
Chad Wagner (Hawaii Pacific, Sr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Reedy Berg (Gonzaga, Jr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox

Relief Pitcher-
Liam Baron (Gonzaga, Jr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

All-WCL Second-Team

Jason Brunansky (Kansas, So.-to-be), Spokane RiverHawks
Robby Crocker (Cal Poly, So.-to-be), Bend Elks
Pat Colwell (San Diego State, Sr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights

First Base-
Brian Burke (Kansas Wesleyan, Jr.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox

Second Base-
Sean Winston (Hawaii Pacific, Sr.-to-be), Spokane RiverHawks

Sam Richter (Skagit Valley CC, Soph.-to-be), Bellingham Bells

Third Base-
Corey Valine (San Jose State, Sr.-to-be), Bend Elks

Mike Chiarelli (Oregon State, Jr.-to-be), Bellingham Bells

Jeremy Mayo (Texas Tech, Jr.-to-be), Kelowna Falcons

Starting Pitcher-
Steve Kalush (Santa Clara, Sr.-to-be), Corvallis Knights
Trey Watt (Pacific Lutheran, Sr-to be), Kitsap BlueJackets
Brad Propst (Oklahoma State, Jr.-to-be), Kitsap BlueJackets
Peter Lavin (San Francisco, Jr.-to-be) Bend Elks
Kyle Hamman (Southern Utah, Sr.-to-be), Kitsap BlueJackets

Relief Pitcher-
Patrick Smith (Palomar CC, So.-to-be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Seth Harvey (Washington State, Sr.-to-be), Bellingham Bells


Bellingham: Chris Amezquita (Pepperdine), Patrick Clausen (Washington State), Tanner Leighton (Skagit Valley CC). Bend: Jordan Leyland (UC Irvine), Tommy Richards (Washington State), Kyle Buchanan (Washington State), Spencer Jackson (Washington State), Nick Stiltner (Oregon State). Corvallis: Josh Hogan (Oregon), Andrew Susac (Oregon State), Billy Clontz (Western Oregon), Brent Warren (Oregon State), Drew Leary (San Diego State), Eddie Orozco (UC Riverside). Kelowna: Mike Aldrete (UC Davis), Louie Templeton (Bellevue), Ryan Jenkins (Auburn), Dwight Tanaka (Cal), Kyle Mihaylo (UC Davis). Kitsap: Bucky Aona (Southern Utah), Zach Jacob (Dayton), Chris Escobar (San Francisco), Kelly Constantini (San Francisco). Moses Lake: D.J. Legg (Utah). Spokane: Phil Johnson (Chico State), Cody Reeves (Western Oregon), Cameron Selik (Kansas), Paul Sewald (San Diego). Wenatchee: Jesse Moore (Hawaii), D.J. Crumlich (UC Irvine), Cody Keefer (UCLA), Zach Gallagher (Columbia Basin College), Seth Haehl (Washington), Paris Shewey (Washington State).