Moses Lake captures WCCBL crown, beats Corvallis 3-2 to sweep Championship Series

The Moses Lake Pirates captured their first WCCBL title Monday night by beating the West Division Champion Corvallis Knights 3-2 at Larson Field to sweep the league’s Championship Series 2 games to none. Moses Lake’s 29-13 record was the league’s top mark.

The Pirates took advantage of three Corvallis errors to score 3 unearned runs. WCCBL co-MVP Zach Kim of University of San Francisco drove in the Pirates third run with a two-out double in the fourth innning.

Michael Ratigan of Washington State University tossed six innings to earn the championship game win. Lee Roberts of LMU pitched two innings of scoreless relief to hold the lead and Daniel Wolford (pictured), the league’s saves leader with 11, pitched out of trouble in the ninth to earn his third save of the post-season.

Corvallis collected 12 hits to Moses Lake’s 6, but left 12 men on base. The Knights mounted a two-out rally in the ninth to get within a run at 3-2, but Wolford struck out the last Corvallis batter to give Moses Lake the title.