WCCBL announces East and West All-Star teams

WCCBL commissioner Jim Dietz announced the league’s 2007 All-Star teams following a Monday afternoon conference call with the East and West coaches. The East team, as selected by the East’s head coaches, features nine Moses Lake Pirates including ace pitcher Dale Reneau of Oral Roberts and outfielder Steve Tinoco (pictured) of Long Beach State. Reneau leads the league in strikeouts with 37 and is 3-0 with a 1.19 ERA over 4 starts and 5 appearances. Tinoco’s .347 batting average is fourth best in the league.

The West All-Star team, as chosen by the West’s skippers, features six players from the host Bellingham Bells including league ERA leader Paul Applebee of University of California, Riverside. Applebee is 2-0 and has posted the league’s lowest ERA at 0.44.

The league’s second annual All-Star event sponsored by Nike is scheduled for July 16-17 in Bellingham, Washington. The WCCBL All-Star game is Tuesday, July 17 at Joe Martin Field. Game time is 7 pm (gates will open early). Fans are welcome to watch batting practice, which will be followed by a homerun derby featuring a slugger from each team.


Dale Reneau, Moses Lake (Oral Roberts)
Austin Todd, Kelowna (Missouri State)
AJ Proszek, Spokane (C.C. of Spokane)
Lee Roberts, Moses Lake (Loyola Marymount University)
Michael Ratigan, Moses Lake (Washington State)
Kyle Foster, Wenatchee (Oregon State)
Josh Fish, Moses Lake (Wenatchee Valley College)
Matt Sokolowski, Kelowna (Butler)
Aaron Guinn, Spokane (C.C. of Spokane)

Position Players:
C- Ryan McMillan, Kelowna (Cowley College)
C- Kevin Coddington, Moses Lake (Univ. of Illinois at Chicago)
1B- Dillon Baird, Wenatchee (Yavapai College)
INF- Bryan Horst, Spokane (UC Riverside)
INF- Zach Hedges, Moses Lake (Univ. of Oklahoma)
INF- Hawkins Gebbers, Wenatchee (Biola)
INF- Jesse Ayala, Moses Lake (Univ. of Nevada, Reno)
UTL- Zach Kim, Moses Lake (Univ. of San Francisco)
OF- Zach Mandelblatt, Wenatchee (Pomona-Pitzer)
OF- Steve Tinoco, Moses Lake (Long Beach State)
OF- Ryan Lee, Kelowna (Cal Poly SLO)
OF- Ryan Davis, Wenatchee (Vanderbilt)


Paul Applebee, Bellingham (UC Riverside)
Stephen Fife, Bellingham (Univ. of Utah)
Matt Way, Corvallis (Washington State)
Marc Grifantini, Bend (UC Davis)
Kyle Howe, Kitsap (Univ. of Nevada, Reno)
Matt Rossman, Kitsap (UC Riverside)
JR Murphy, Corvallis (San Diego State)
Greg Krause, Bellingham (Univ. of Utah)
Mike Koons, Corvallis (San Diego State)

Position Players:
C- Ryan Scott, Bend (Univ. of Washington)
C- Kyle Holloway, Bellingham (Lynn University)
1B- Chase Powell, Bend (Univ. of Portland)
1B- Ryan Voelkel, Kitsap (Green River CC)
1B- Jim Murphy, Corvallis (Washington State)
INF- Derek Poppert, Bend (Univ. of San Francisco)
INF- Jamie Nilsen, Kitsap (Central Washington University)
INF- Darrick Hale, Bellingham (Cal State Los Angeles)
OF- Brandon Kuykendall, Kitsap (Benedictine College)
OF- Joey Lind, Kitsap (Univ. of Washington)
OF- Brian Boyd, Bellingham (Sacramento State)
OF- Matt Wyckoff, Corvallis (George Fox University)

The WCCBL is dedicated to player development, player exposure and to providing affordable summer entertainment to its member communities.