WCCBL forms East and West Divisions, adds Divisional Series and names new President

At the league’s fall owners meetings, the WCCBL Board of Directors voted to form an East and West Division. With the creation of Divisions, the league announced plans to add a round of playoffs in 2007. This summer, four WCCBL teams will qualify for the post-season. Two Divisional Series will determine who competes in next season’s WCCBL Championship Series. Both rounds will be best-of-three series. The East and West Divisional Series both open Monday, August 6.

The West will be made up of the Bellingham Bells, Bend Elks, Kitsap BlueJackets and Knights Baseball Club and the East will feature the Kelowna Falcons, Moses Lake Pirates, Spokane RiverHawks and defending WCCBL champion Wenatchee AppleSox.

The league also announced that Vice President Dan Segel was named the league’s second President replacing Past President Tony Larson. 2006 WCCBL Executive of the Year Brent Kirwan of Moses Lake was named the league’s new Vice President. Both were elected at the fall owners meetings in Bremerton, Washington, as Larson stepped down after two successful years as the league’s first President.