WCL President Ken Wilson announces WCL All-Star Game rosters

he teams for the 2012 West Coast League All-Star Game presented by NAPA Auto Parts were announced this past Tuesday by league president Ken Wilson. In total, forty-two players were named to the East Division and West Division squads, which will meet Tuesday, July 24 at Borleske Stadium in Walla Walla, Washington.

Wenatchee AppleSox coach Ed Knaggs will lead the East, while Corvallis Knights skipper Brooke Knight will guide the West all-stars.

A league-high eight Kelowna Falcons were selected. The second most represented team is the Corvallis Knights with seven players chosen. Players were picked by fan voting, recommendations from Major League scouts and voting by league coaches.

The East team features Kelowna’s seven-game winner Brandon Marris (7-0, 1.64) of Southeastern Oklahoma State and WCL RBI leader Mitchell Gunsolus of Wenatchee. Gunsolus, a sophomore-to-be at Gonzaga, has collected 28 RBIs and is hitting a sizzling .353 for the division-leading Sox.

The West squad features Bend Elks’ ace Darin Gillies of Arizona State (pictured) and Klamath Falls slugger Austin Byler of University of Nevada-Reno. Gillies recently tossed a three-hit shutout vs. Corvallis and is 3-1 with a 1.72 ERA this summer. Byler leads the WCL in hitting with a .384 batting average and is tied for the league lead in homers with 6.

East Division Team

C – Nathaniel Causey, Bellingham (Arizona State); Jerry McClanahan, Kelowna (UC Irvine)
1B – Greg Friesen, Kelowna (LSU-Shreveport)
2B – Jace Conrad, Kelowna (Louisiana-Lafayette)
3B – Andrew Ely, Bellingham (Washington)
SS – Mitchell Gunsolus, Wenatchee (Gonzaga); Patrick Johnson, Kelowna (Missouri Baptist)
OF – Jarel Lewis, Bellingham (College of Idaho)
OF – Ty Moore, Wenatchee (UCLA)
OF – Spencer O’Neil, Walla Walla (Columbia Basin College)
OF – Kyle Pearson, Kelowna (LSU-Shreveport)
RHP – Corey Carma, Bellingham (USC)
RHP – Sean Hartnett, Bellingham (Washington State)
LHP – Andrew Olson, Bellingham (Seattle)
RHP – Cord Cockrell, Kelowna (Louisiana-Lafayette)
RHP – Brandon Marris, Kelowna (Southeastern Oklahoma State)
RHP – Phil Maton, Kelowna (Louisiana Tech)
RHP – Arturo Reyes, Walla Walla (Columbia Basin College)
LHP – Hunter Virant, Walla Walla (UCLA)
LHP – Derek Callahan, Wenatchee (Gonzaga)
RHP – Tyler Kane, Wenatchee (Washington)

West Division Team

C – Austin Barr, Corvallis (Stanford); Josh Graham, Klamath Falls (Oregon)
1B – Bo Walter, Bend (College of San Mateo); Joshua Wong, Klamath Falls (Hawaii-Hilo)
2B – Parker Miles, Klamath Falls (Chemeketa CC)
3B – Austin Byler, Klamath Falls (Nevada-Reno); Caleb Whalen, Corvallis (Portland)
SS – Tanner Nielsen, Klamath Falls (Campbellsville)
OF – Nathan Blackham, Corvallis (Washington State)
OF – Austin Diemer, Cowlitz (Cal State Fullerton)
OF – Connor Hofmann, Corvallis (Oregon)
RHP – J.R. Bunda, Bend (Portland)
RHP – Darin Gillies, Bend (Arizona State)
LHP – Travis Radke, Bend (Portland)
LHP – Devon Barker, Corvallis (Centralia College)
RHP – Rob Dittrick, Corvallis (Pacific)
RHP – Jorge Perez, Corvallis (Grand Canyon)
LHP – Cole Irvin, Cowlitz (Oregon)
LHP – Mikey Murray, Cowlitz (Hawaii Pacific)
RHP – Felipe Perez, Cowlitz (UCLA)
RHP – Colin Feldtman, Kitsap, (Portland)