West Coast League award winners and All-WCL teams released; Bellingham third baseman Alex Calbick of Maine earns MVP honors

West Coast League president Dennis Koho announced the League’s awards and All-WCL teams this afternoon. This summer’s WCL Champion, the Corvallis Knights, led the WCL in selections with seven All-WCL players and five honorable mention picks.

Bellingham slugger Alex Calbick of Maine (pictured) was named the MVP of the West Coast League. The senior-to-be not only captured the WCL batting crown by hitting .384, but he also blasted 5 home runs and collected 26 RBIs, both team-leading figures, while playing a steady third base.

Klamath’s Nick Sabo of Long Beach State earned WCL Pitcher of the Year honors. The southpaw sophomore-to-be topped the WCL in wins with 6 and strikeouts with 57.

Corvallis skipper Brooke Knight was named Coach of the Year for the fourth as he was also selected in 2008, 2009 and 2011.

Rookie GM Holly Jones of Victoria was the WCL Board of Directors pick for WCL Executive of the Year. Holly helped launch the HarbourCats and put on the event of the season – the 2013 All-Star Game – that set the WCL single-game attendance mark with a crowd of 4,210 at Royal Athletic Park.

The Bellingham Bells were the recipients of the Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award. The Bells are managed by Gary Hatch.

First-Team All-WCL

C – Dane Lund (San Jose State), Corvallis Knights
1B – Connor Spencer (UC Irvine), Wenatchee AppleSox
2B – Seth Spivey (Abilene Christian), Bend Elks
3B – Alex Calbick (Maine), Bellingham Bells
SS – Peter Van Gansen (Cal Poly), Corvallis Knights
OF – Blake Drake (Concordia), Corvallis Knights
OF – Chase Fields (Seattle), Bend Elks
OF – Cody Hough (UC Riverside), Klamath Falls Gems
UTL – Alex Real (New Mexico), Victoria HarbourCats
SP – Elliot Surrey (UC Irvine), Corvallis Knights
SP – Matt Hall (Missouri State), Walla Walla Sweets
SP – Nick Sabo (Long Beach State), Klamath Falls Gems
SP – Sean Silva (USC), Walla Walla Sweets
SP – Brandon Horth (Loyola Marymount), Klamath Falls Gems
CL – Sean Luke-Brija (Gonzaga), Walla Walla Sweets
RP – David Murillo (Lewis-Clark State), Bend Elks

Second-Team All-WCL

C – Tyler Servais (Princeton), Bend Elks
1B – Kevin Davidson (UC Riverside), Medford Rogues
2B – Andre Real (Hawaii), Wenatchee AppleSox
3B – Cody Lenahan (Portland), Corvallis Knights
SS – Alex DeGoti (Long Beach State), Victoria HarbourCats
OF – Grayson Porter (Baylor), Kelowna Falcons
OF – Brett Stephens (frosh-to-be at UCLA), Wenatchee AppleSox
OF – Ryan Aguilar (Santa Ana College), Cowlitz Black Bears
UTL – Kyle Knigge (Lewis-Clark State), Cowlitz Black Bears
SP – Nate Cole (Abilene Christian), Bellingham Bells
SP – Bryan Conant (Cal State Fullerton), Victoria HarbourCats
SP – Spenser Watkins (Western Oregon), Kitsap BlueJackets
SP – Chris Bishop (Pacific Lutheran), Corvallis Knights
SP – Andrew Olson (Seattle), Bellingham Bells
SP – Jason Hager (Oakland), Bellingham Bells
CL – Brandon Choate (Tacoma CC), Corvallis Knights
RP – Brian McAfee (Cornell), Cowlitz Black Bears

Honorable Mention

Bellingham Bells – Nick Baker (Chico State); Bend Elks- Derek Dixon (George Fox); Corvallis Knights – Kevin Kline (Dixie State), Grant Melker (San Diego), Andrew Naderer (Grand Canyon), Casey Bloomquist (Cal Poly), Jorge Perez (Grand Canyon); Cowlitz Black Bears – Devyn Bolasky (UC Riverside), Domenic Mazza (UC Santa Barbara); Kelowna Falcons – Jarryd Klemm (Frank Phillips College); Kitsap BlueJackets – Alex McKeon (Texas A&M International), Connor Jones (Villanova), Cody Thompson (San Diego State); Klamath Falls Gems – Cameron Newell (UC Santa Barbara); Victoria HarbourCats – Ty Provencher (Long Beach State); Walla Walla Sweets – Renae Martinez (UC Irvine), Cody Poteet (UCLA); Wenatchee AppleSox – Joe Mello (Chabot College), Trevor Lubking (Pacific Lutheran).

2013 – Alex Calbick (Maine) of Bellingham
2012 – Mitchell Gunsolus (Gonzaga) of Wenatchee
2011 – Alex Stanford (Gonzaga) of Walla Walla
2010 – Tommy Richards (Washington State) of Bend
2009 – Richie Jimenez (Riverside CC) of Corvallis
2008 – Drew Heid (Gonzaga) of Bend
2007 – Zach Kim (San Francisco) of Moses Lake; Brandon Kuykendall (Benedictine College) of Kitsap
2006 – Darin Holcomb (Gonzaga) of Spokane
2005 – Steve Marquardt (Columbia Basin College) of Wenatchee

WCL Pitchers of the Year
2013 – Nick Sabo (Long Beach State) of Klamath Falls
2012 – Cord Cockrell (Louisiana-Lafayette) of Kelowna
2011 – Owen Jones (Portland) of Wenatchee
2010 – Dayne Quist (UC Davis) of Kelowna
2009 – Matt Andriese (UC Riverside) of Corvallis
2008 – Jared Eskew (Cal Poly) of Corvallis
2007 – Paul Applebee (UC Riverside) of Bellingham
2006 – Ross Humes (Washington State) of Kitsap
2005 – Tommy Hanson (Riverside CC) of Aloha

WCL Coaches of the Year
2013 – Brooke Knight, Corvallis
2012 – Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee
2011 – Brooke Knight, Corvallis
2010 – Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee
2009 – Brooke Knight, Corvallis; Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee
2008 – Brooke Knight, Corvallis
2007 – Gabe Boruff, Moses Lake
2006 – Steve Hertz, Spokane
2005 – Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee

WCL Executives of the Year
2013 – Holly Jones, Victoria
2012 – Nick Caples, Bellingham
2011 – Eddie Poplawski, Bellingham
2010 – Zachary Fraser, Walla Walla
2009 – Dan Segel, Corvallis
2008 – Dan Segel, Corvallis
2007 – Dan Segel, Corvallis
2006 – Brent & Amy Kirwan, Moses Lake
2005 – Rick Smith & partners, Kitsap

Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award*
2013 – Bellingham Bells
2012 – Cowlitz Black Bears
2011 – Cowlitz Black Bears
2010 – Moses Lake Pirates
2009 – Moses Lake Pirates
2008 – Corvallis Knights

*established in 2008, and named after the league’s inaugural commissioner Jim Dietz.