Commissioner Dietz announces All-WCCBL teams and honors

Commissioner Jim Dietz of the West Coast Collegiate Baseball League announced the league’s MVP, Pitcher of the Year, Coach of the Year, Executive of the Year and All-WCCBL teams as voted on by member owners and coaches.

Moses Lake’s Zach Kim of University of San Francisco and Kitsap’s Brandon Kuykendall of Bendictine College were named WCCBL co-MVPs. Kim, a junior-to be, played outfield and second base for the Pirates and led the league in hits with 56 and runs scored with 32. Kim hit .327 on the season and was also second in the league in total bases with 63. This past spring, Kim led the Dons of the West Coast Conference in hitting with a .359 batting average.

Kuykendall, a senior-to be outfielder, hit .315 with 10 doubles, 13 stolen bases 2 HR and 18 RBI. Brandon was third in the league in total bases with 62 and was named co-MVP of the 2007 WCCBL All-Star Game.

Bellingham Bells southpaw Paul Applebee of University of California, Riverside was named Pitcher of the Year. Applebee’s 0.60 ERA was the league’s lowest. Paul started the 2007 WCCBL All-Star Game for the West. Applebee went 4-1 over 7 starts and struckout 39 over 45 1/3 innings pitched.

Gabe Boruff, second-year skipper of the East Division champion Moses Lake Pirates, was named Coach of the Year and Dan Segel of the West Division champion Corvallis Knights was named Executive of the Year. Boruff led Moses Lake to the league’s best record at 29-13 and Segel helped successfully launch the Knights in a new market – Corvallis, Oregon.

All-WCCBL First-Team

Steve Tinoco (Long Beach State, So.-to be), Moses Lake Pirates
Zach Mandelblatt (Pomona-Pitzer, Jr.-to be), Wenatchee AppleSox
Brandon Kuykendall (Benedictine College, Sr.-to be), Kitsap BlueJackets

First Base-
Jim Murphy (Washington State, Sr.-to be), Corvallis Knights

Second Base-
Josh Hogan (Mt. Hood CC, So.-to be), Corvallis Knights

Derek Poppert (University of San Francisco, So.-to be), Bend Elks

Third Base-
Hawkins Gebbers (Biola, Jr.-to be), Wenatchee AppleSox

Tyson Van Winkle (Gonzaga, Jr.-to be), Spokane RiverHawks

Zach Kim (University of San Francisco, Jr.-to be), Moses Lake Pirates

Starting Pitcher-
Paul Applebee (University of California, Riverside, So.-to be), Bellingham Bells
Dale Reneau (Oral Roberts, Sr.-to be), Moses Lake Pirates
Matt Way (Washington State, Jr.-to be), Corvallis Knights
J.R. Murphy (San Diego State, Sr.-to be), Corvallis Knights
Kyle Howe (University of Nevada, Reno, Sr.-to be), Kitsap BlueJackets

Relief Pitcher-
Daniel Wolford (Long Beach State, So.-to be), Moses Lake Pirates

COACH OF THE YEAR: Gabe Boruff, Moses Lake Pirates
EXECUTIVE OF THE YEAR: Dan Segel, Corvallis Knights
PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Paul Applebee, Bellingham Bells
MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Zach Kim of Moses Lake and Brandon Kuykendall of Kitsap

All-WCCBL Second-Team

Ryan Lee (Cal Poly SLO), Kelowna Falcons
Joey Lind (University of Washington), Kitsap BlueJackets
Matt Wyckoff (George Fox University), Corvallis Knights

First Base-
Dillon Baird (Yavapai College), Wenatchee AppleSox

Second Base-
Bryan Horst (University of California, Riverside), Spokane RiverHawks

Jamie Nilsen (Central Washington University), Kitsap BlueJackets

Third Base-
Drew George (Oregon State), Bend Elks

Ryan McMillan (Cowley College), Kelowna Falcons

Vinnie Catricala (University of Hawaii), Wenatchee AppleSox

Starting Pitcher-
Jorge Reyes (Oregon State), Moses Lake Pirates
Matt Rossman (University of California, Riverside), Kitsap BlueJackets
Stephen Fife (Utah), Bellingham Bells
Elliott Cribby (University of Washington), Wenatchee AppleSox
Tyler Rogers (Chabot College), Moses Lake Pirates

Relief Pitcher-
Lee Roberts (LMU), Moses Lake Pirates


Bellingham; Brian Boyd (Sacramento State), Doug Cherry (University of Washington). Bend; Sean Anderson (Willamette), Koa Kahalehoe (Oregon State), Pat Pezet (Cal Poly SLO), Jeff Reekers (UC Davis). Corvallis; Daniel Bibona (UC Irvine), Blake Keitzman (Oregon State), Eric Massingham (Cal Poly SLO), Greg Peavey (Hudson’s Bay HS). Kelowna; Matt Sokolowski (Butler), Austin Todd (Missouri State). Kitsap; Joe Hagen (Centenary College), Lawson Hipps (Arkansas State), Ryan Voelkel (Green River CC). Moses Lake; Michael Capbarat (University of California, Berkeley), Kevin Coddington (University of Illinois at Chicago), Josh Fish (Wenatchee Valley College), Ben Guidos (University of Washington), Zach Hedges (University of Oklahoma), Michael Ratigan (Washington State), Marcus Tackett (Oral Roberts). Spokane; AJ Proszek (CC of Spokane), Kraig Sitton (Oregon State), Shawn Wayt (Gonzaga).