Corvallis and Moses Lake win Divisional Series, advance to WCCBL Championship Series

Corvallis and Moses Lake held serve Thursday night as each Division Champ won its Divisional Series at home. The Knights won in dramatic fashion as Jim Murphy (pictured) of Washington State blasted a game-winning two-run homer in the bottom of the eighth to give Corvallis the 4-3 series clinching win. Oregon State frosh-to be Greg Peavey pitched a scoreless ninth recording all three outs via strikeout to earn the save.

Moses Lake took care of business at Larson Field beating WCCBL two-time defending champion Wenatchee 7-2. Second baseman Zach Kim of University of San Francisco delivered the big blow blasting a grand slam in the fourth-inning to give the Pirates a 6-1 advantage. Kim collected 5 RBI. Moses Lake starter Ben Guidos of University of Washington pitched 5 solid innings to earn the win.

Game one of the WCCBL Championship Series is scheduled for Saturday, August 11 at Goss Stadium at Coleman Field in Corvallis. Games two and three are scheduled for Monday and Tuesday (if necessary) at Moses Lake.

Corvallis and Moses Lake won both its Divisional Series home games to advance to the WCCBL Championship Series. This is the Knights and Pirates first appearance in the WCCBL finals. Corvallis won the West with a 27-15 record and Moses Lake captured the East crown with a league-best 29-13 mark.

The WCCBL is dedicated to player development, player exposure and to providing affordable summer entertainment to its member communities.