WCCBL announces All-League, Rawlings Gold Glove and DeMarini All-Performance Teams

The West Coast Collegiate Baseball League announced its All-WCCBL teams, Rawlings Gold Glove recipients and DeMarini All-Performance winners. In addition, the league’s MVP, Pitcher of the Year, Coach of the Year and Executive of the Year were named.

Spokane’s Darin Holcomb of Gonzaga was named the league’s MVP. Holcomb, a junior-to be, played a solid third base and led the league in HR with 6, RBI with 34 and tied for the league lead in total bases with 77. The two-time second-team All-West Coast Conference third baseman was also second in the league in hitting with a .324 batting average and second in doubles with 12. In addition, Holcomb was named the inaugural WCCBL All-Star game’s “top prospect” and won the Homerun derby with 15 blasts.

Another Zag, Steve Hertz (Director of Athletic Relations), was named the league’s Coach of the Year for leading the Spokane RiverHawks to a 28-14 first place finish. Hertz, in his first year managing the Hawks, took the team from worst to first in a single season as Spokane finished last in 2005 with a 12-24 record.

Kitsap’s Ross Humes of Washington State was named Pitcher of the Year. The unorthodox lefty carved up WCCBL hitters and led the second-year Jackets to a 24-18 fourth place finish. Humes led the league in innings pitched with 71 2/3 and went 5-0 with a 1.76 ERA.

Brent and Amy Kirwan of Moses Lake were honored as the league’s Executives of the Year. Thanks to the Kirwan’s fine leadership, contagious spirit and outstanding organizational skills, the expansion Pirates were ultra competitive on the field and a big hit in the community.

WCCBL Championship Series foes Spokane and Wenatchee were the most represented clubs on the All-WCCBL teams with 8 Hawks and 7 Sox chosen. 5 RiverHawks were named to the First-Team with Kitsap being the next most represented club on the First-Team with 3.

All-WCCBL First-Team

Brent Mertens (Western Oregon, Sr.-to be), Spokane RiverHawks
Grant Desme (Cal Poly SLO, Jr.-to be), Bend Elks
Carl Uhl (University of California, Riverside, So.-to be), Spokane RiverHawks

First Base-
Kevin Corrigan (Western Oregon, Sr.-to be), Kitsap BlueJackets

Second Base-
Joey Wong (Sprague High School/Fr.-to be at Oregon State), Bend Elks

Brett Munster (University of California, Berkeley, Sr.-to be), Moses Lake Pirates

Third Base-
Darin Holcomb (Gonzaga, Jr.-to be), Spokane RiverHawks

Kyle Paul (Vernon College/Jr.-to be at Missouri State), Kelowna Falcons

Starting Pitcher-
Ross Humes (Washington State, So.-to be), Kitsap BlueJackets
DJ Lidyard (Lower Columbia College/Jr.-to be at Oregon State), Wenatchee AppleSox
Cory Powell (Gonzaga, Jr.-to be), Spokane RiverHawks
Brett Armour (Mesa State College, Sr.-to be), Bellingham Bells
Jeremy Hefner (Seminole State College/Jr.-to be at Oral Roberts), Spokane RiverHawks

Relief Pitcher-
Mike Tachell (Missouri Valley College, Sr.-to be), Kitsap BlueJackets

COACH OF THE YEAR: Steve Hertz, Spokane RiverHawks
EXECUTIVE OF THE YEAR: Brent and Amy Kirwan, Moses Lake Pirates
PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Ross Humes, Kitsap BlueJackets
MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Darin Holcomb, Spokane RiverHawks

All-WCCBL Second-Team

Paul Martin (Lewis-Clark State College), Spokane RiverHawks
Jake Rife (University of Washington), Bend Elks
Jesse Roehl (Lewis-Clark State College), Wenatchee AppleSox

First Base-
Chase Powell (University of Portland), Spokane RiverHawks

Second Base-
Sean Nicol (University of Portland), Wenatchee AppleSox

Brent Wyatt (Wenatchee Valley College), Wenatchee AppleSox

Third Base-
Eric Sogard (Arizona State), Bend Elks

Ryan Fobert (George Fox University), Moses Lake Pirates

Starting Pitcher-
Marc Rzepczynski (University of California, Riverside), Aloha Knights
Clayton Mortensen (Gonzaga), Wenatchee AppleSox
Matt Fields (Gonzaga), Wenatchee AppleSox
Luke Farden (CC of Spokane), Spokane RiverHawks
Tommy Milone (USC), Wenatchee AppleSox

Relief Pitcher-
Dale Reneau (Seminole State College), Moses Lake Pirates


Aloha; Zach Borba (UNLV), Jared Prince (Washington State), Brent Morel (Cal Poly SLO), Ryan Selden (Riverside CC), Erik Ammon (Oregon State), James Wallace (College of Southern Idaho), Anthony Carrillo (Riverside CC), Eric Massingham (Cal Poly SLO). Bellingham; Dustin Hennis (Phoenix College), Kevin Sandberg (University of Northern Colorado), Joe Southers (Phoenix College). Bend; Danny Cox (University of Washington), Dan Wentzell (George Fox University), Matt Duryea, Brian Budrow (Oregon State), Jason Erickson (University of Washington). Kelowna; Greg Swertfager (Cal Poly SLO), Brian Gausman (New Mexico State), Heath Taylor (Vernon College), Jeff Duda (Lewis-Clark State College). Kitsap; Brett Kaluza (University of Washington), Stephen Herzog (Charleston Southern University), Doug Buser (San Jose City College), Danny Meier (University of Portland), Jamie Nilsen (Central Washington University), Josh Meeker (Olympic College), Kyle Howe (Columbia Basin College). Moses Lake; Billy Krause (University of Portland), Boo Christenson (Western Oregon), Derek Shoemaker (Wenatchee Valley College), Chad Hunter (Big Bend CC). Spokane; Greg Biagi (Big Bend CC), Josh Williamson (Washington State). Wenatchee; Mac Gebbers (Biola University), Marcus McKimmy (Columbia Basin College), Dustin Colclough (Gonzaga), Nick Haughian (University of Washington).

DeMarini All-Performance

OF: Brent Mertens (Western Oregon), Spokane RiverHawks – .321
OF: Grant Desme (Cal Poly SLO), Bend Elks – .318
OF: Doug Buser (San Jose City College), Kitsap BlueJackets – .306
1B: Dan Wentzell (George Fox University), Bend Elks – .285
2B: Joey Wong (Sprague High School), Bend Elks – .310
SS: Brett Munster (University of California, Berkeley), Moses Lake Pirates – .310
3B: Eric Sogard (Arizona State), Bend Elks – .347
C: Ryan Fobert (George Fox University), Moses Lake Pirates – .301
DH: Jared Prince (Washington State), Aloha Knights – .308

DeMarini All-Performance selections are based on highest batting average at each position.

Rawlings Gold Gloves

OF: Paul Martin (Lewis-Clark State College), Spokane RiverHawks – 1.000
OF: Jesse Roehl (Lewis-Clark State College), Wenatchee AppleSox – .990
OF: Brett Kaluza (University of Washington), Kitsap BlueJackets – .988
1B: Josh Chappell (Seminole State College), Kelowna Falcons – 1.000
2B: Brent Biggs (Barton County CC), Bellingham Bells – .988
SS: Brett Munster (University of California, Berkeley), Moses Lake Pirates – .963
3B: Hawkins Gebbers (Biola University), Wenatchee AppleSox – .954
C: Dustin Colclough (Gonzaga), Wenatchee AppleSox – 1.000
P: Jason Erickson (University of Washington), Bend Elks – 1.000

Gold Glove selections are based on fielding percentage (ties were broken by total chances).

The WCCBL is dedicated to player development, player exposure and to providing affordable summer entertainment to its member communities.