West Coast League re-aligns, moves to three divisions

The Board of Directors of the West Coast League voted to re-align the league’s divisions for the 2014 season. The vote moved to create a three-division alignment based on natural geographical boundaries.

The South Division includes all of the league’s Oregon teams – the defending WCL champion Corvallis Knights, Bend Elks, Klamath Falls Gems, and Medford Rogues. The East and West Divisions will each have one British Columbia club and three Washington teams. The East Division features the Kelowna (BC) Falcons, Walla Walla Sweets, Wenatchee AppleSox, and the WCL’s newest expansion team, Yakima. The West Division is made up of the Victoria (BC) HarbourCats, Bellingham Bells, Kitsap BlueJackets, and Cowlitz Black Bears.

Kelowna Falcons
Walla Walla Sweets
Wenatchee AppleSox
Yakima (expansion)

Bellingham Bells
Cowlitz Black Bears
Kitsap BlueJackets
Victoria HarbourCats

Bend Elks
Corvallis Knights
Klamath Falls Gems
Medford Rogues

“With expansion growing the league to twelve teams, the opportunity to align with three divisions creates even greater rivalries within natural geographic boundaries and will hopefully help member teams see some savings as it relates to ever-growing travel expenses,” said Dennis Koho, WCL President.

Member teams will continue playing out-of-division games across the entire footprint of the league, but not every team will visit every city every year. The 2014 season is set to begin in early June and end August 11 with a schedule to be announced soon. The playoff format will feature the three division champions plus a wild card – the team which has the best record of all the remaining non-division winners at the conclusion of the season.