All-WCL Teams Released

Thursday morning, the 2023 All-West Coast League teams were unveiled by West Coast League Commissioner Rob Neyer.

“With every passing year,” said Neyer, “I’m more impressed with how much talent and commitment we’re blessed with each summer in the West Coast League. We saw that in the draft earlier this summer, and now we’re seeing this breadth of talent in our All-League teams.”

Wednesday, the Most Valuable Player and Pitcher of the Year Awards were announced, as Yakima Valley Pippins first baseman Jace Phelan was named WCL MVP, while Edmonton hurler Halen Knoll earned Pitcher of the Year honors.

On the All-WCL first team, the Corvallis Knights lead the way with three selections, followed by the Bend Elks, Edmonton Riverhawks, Portland Pickles, Ridgefield Raptors, and Walla Walla Sweets with two each.

Awards on deck for later this week: Coach of the Year, Umpire of the Year, and the highly competitive and coveted Team Sportsmanship Award, with all three announced by Commissioner Neyer.

First-Team All-WCL

C – Luca DiPaolo (USC, sophomore), Bend Elks
1B – Jace Phelan (Gonzaga, junior), Yakima Valley Pippins
2B – Frankie Carney (UC Irvine, freshman), Wenatchee AppleSox
3B – Jake Tsukada (Hawaii, senior), Ridgefield Raptors
SS – Jack Metcho (Univ. of the Pacific, sophomore), Portland Pickles
OF – Ben Parker (William & Mary, senior), Walla Walla Sweets
OF – Sam Stem (Gonzaga, sophomore), Corvallis Knights
OF – Aidan Espinoza (UCLA, freshman), Walla Walla Sweets
Util – Ethan Hedges (USC, soph), Corvallis Knights
DH – Dalton Mashore (Saint Mary’s, senior), Portland Pickles

SP – Halen Knoll (Edmonton Collegiate, senior), Edmonton Riverhawks
SP – Ryan Beitel (Univ. of British Columbia, senior), Bellingham Bells
SP – Riley Barrett (Arizona State, freshman), Edmonton Riverhawks
SP – Tucker Grote (Oklahoma Wesleyan, senior), Bend Elks
SP – Dylan Stewart (Pepperdine, sophomore), Ridgefield Raptors
RP – Sean Wiese (Arizona Christian, senior), Corvallis Knights
RP – Andrew Pinedo (Hope International, junior), Nanaimo NightOwls
RP – Logan MacNeil (Campbellsville, junior), Victoria HarbourCats

Second-Team All-WCL

C – Michael Easter (Azusa Pacific, junior), Nanaimo NightOwls
1B – Tyler Davis (Fresno State, junior), Victoria HarbourCats
2B – Roberto Núñez (Embry-Riddle, junior), Port Angeles Lefties
3B – Tyler Quinn (Utah, senior), Corvallis Knights
SS – Hudson Shupe (Gonzaga, sophomore), Victoria HarbourCats
OF – LeTrey McCollum (UCSB, junior), Cowlitz Black Bears
OF – Riley Paulino (U. of Pikeville, junior), Nanaimo NightOwls
OF – Andrew Valdez (Fresno Pacific, senior), Bellingham Bells
Util – Griffin Palfrey (Columbia, junior), Kelowna Falcons

SP – Blake Hammond (Northwest Nazarene, sophomore), Ridgefield Raptors
SP – Merit Jones (Utah, sophomore), Corvallis Knights
SP – Toby Haarer (Central Arizona, sophomore), Wenatchee AppleSox
SP – Sam Hall (Panola JC, sophomore), Kelowna Falcons
SP – Colby Scheuber (Grays Harbor College, sophomore), Port Angeles Lefties
RP – Davis Franklin (U. of Puget Sound, junior), Victoria HarbourCats
RP – Jadon Williamson (Lewis-Clark State, junior), Wenatchee AppleSox
RP – James Trimble (Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, sophomore), Bellingham Bells
# year in school noted for fall/winter/spring, 2023-2024

Honorable Mention All-WCL

Bellingham: Will Armbruester (Arizona State), Daniel Paret (Stetson), Will Franklin (Edmonds College), Carter Parcher (CSU-Bakersfield), Tomas Urbina (Incarnate Word)

Bend: Kellan Oakes (Oregon State)

Corvallis: Blake Avila (Grand Canyon), Ty Yukumoto (Pacific), Zach Johnson (Utah Valley), Nathan Marshall (Lane CC)
Cowlitz: Chris Brown (USC), Kai Francis (Gonzaga), Jase Schueller (Vanguard), Kyle Ethridge (Northwest Nazarene), Gavin Ludlow (Linfield)

Cowlitz: Chris Brown (USC), Kai Francis (Gonzaga), Jase Schueller (Vanguard), Kyle Ethridge (Northwest Nazarene), Gavin Ludlow (Linfield)

Edmonton: Tom Poole (Dallas Baptist), Jonny McGill (British Columbia), Dallin Harrison (San Diego), Tommy Takayoshi (Fresno State), Matthew Ridsdale (U. of Alberta)

Kamloops: Cooper Neville (Grand Canyon)

Kelowna: Jonas Salk (Univ. of Portland), Troy Shepard (Spokane Falls CC) Koen van ‘t Klooster (Panola JC)

Nanaimo: Ethan Rivera (Cal State San Marcos), Elijah Ickes (Hawaii), Jakob Fleury (Skagit Valley College), Payton Robertson (Arizona Christian)

Port Angeles: CJ Lewis (Jackson State)

Portland: Naighel Calderon (Hawaii)

Ridgefield: Justin Stransky (Fresno State), Trent Prokes (Cumberland), Charlie Royle (Cal Poly)

Springfield: John Over (Linfield)

Victoria: Dallas Macias (Oregon State), Nick Dumesnil (Cal Baptist), Jack Seward (Central Arizona), Jack Johnson (Baylor), Russell Young (British Columbia), Michael Crossland (UC San Diego)

Walla Walla: Kennedy Hara (Colorado Mesa). Payton Knowles (Gonzaga), Zach Hangas (Ottawa)

Wenatchee: Ryan Martinez (Univ. of the Pacific), Evan Canfield (Edmonds College), Brandham Ponce (Washington State), Michael Cunneely (Gonzaga)

Yakima Valley: Zack Blaszak (Montana State-Billings), Jackson Betancourt (Montana State-Billings), Tommy Eisenstat (Gonzaga)

About the West Coast League: The West Coast League is the West’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Encompassing Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, and now Alberta, the WCL showcases pro prospects from major collegiate conferences around the nation. Every summer, the League features unparalleled fan and player experiences, with North America’s best baseball weather and a mix of classic and modern ballparks, all backdropped by the sport’s most stunning scenery. The 2019 MLB amateur draft began with former Corvallis Knight Adley Rutschman selected with the overall No. 1 pick by the Baltimore Orioles, and the 2022 draft featured two West Coast League alumni, Brooks Lee and Gabriel Hughes, among the first 10 picks.